Tags

, , , , ,

Jack: Me and Clayton and William and Chris are kings. And you and Dad are servants. ‘Cuz you serve us food.

 Me: Yep, that sounds about right.

Imagine my delight today when that wasn’t entirely the case!

I spend a lot of time and energy making my kids healthy, tasty treats. I don’t by crackers, fruit snacks or even yogurt but I still want them to have snacks they can get excited about. But it can be exhausting when I already feel like I’m in the kitchen all day making three meals from scratch with variations for each kid (yeah, bad mommy).

William has been wanting these chocolate chip banana oat bars for a while now so I had him help me in the kitchen and it we breezed right through it! He mashed bananas, fetched and mixed ingredients and helped clean up. It was awesome! If you have an 8-year-old, I highly recommend enlisting their help with after-school snack making. The bars turned out great! These are a truly delicious treat. Oh, happiness.

I will send you to the original recipe because it’s just about perfect but we did sub applesauce in for the yogurt to make them plant-strong (vegan).

Healthy Banana Oat Snack Bars from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.

