Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am convinced that the nagging voice in your mind that makes you question putting your baby on a strict schedule, leaving him with that sitter or weaning your him before you feel ready is more than just mommy guilt. I call it intuition.

When my first baby was born and broke out in rash after rash after rash that voice told me that something in his environment wasn’t right. It left me uneasy about the ingredients I couldn’t pronounce on his jars of baby food. And it convinced me to get the kids out of the house the first time we had a pest control company come spray for the first time. All part of my wake-up story.

So we switched to a fragrance free laundry detergent, using half what the directions said and adding natural products to make up the difference. We skipped jarred baby food. And we chased the ants away with borax and baby powder.

Like any family, we go through cycles and there is only so much we can do in the way of chemical-free living on a shoe-string budget but we do what we can. Here are some of the other ways we cut out chemicals:

  • Cleaning with vinegar and baking soda
  • Limiting the use of antibiotics and other medications
  • Using cloth diapers and cloth wipes when we can
  • Cutting out products with added fragrances
  • Avoiding packaged, convenience food
  • DIY instead of buy as much as possible (granola, deodorant, detergent, etc.)

Like I said, we cycle. Lately I’ve been lazier than usual but this video, A Wake-Up Story, was just what I needed to snap me out of it.

What do you think: Fear mongering propaganda? Or a worthwhile message? I’ve heard both but I vote the latter.

What was your wake-up story?

