Tags

, , , ,

Chocolate Cake Mix cookies have always been one of our family’s favorites but couple of years ago I realized I could sub in pumpkin for the water and oil for a healthier version the same treat. Then pumpkin went away. Retailers are hoping to have it back in stock by the holiday season but I’m not holding my breath.

In the meantime, I’ve tweaked my cookie recipe to include bananas and applesauce. My son recently shared these with friends who all gave them the tolddler stamp of approval.

Ingredients:
1 chocolate cake mix
1 egg (optional)
1 large banana
1/4-1/2 cup applesauce (enough to create a cookie dough consistency)
a handful of chocolate chips (optional)

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Let your kids mash the banana until it is smooth.

Step 2: Mix cake mix, the applesauce and banana until combined, then fold in chocolate chips.

Step 3: Drop on a cookie sheet by the spoonful and bake for 9-10 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

