Tags

, , , , , ,

This is one of those inventions that makes me feel like I may actually have something to contribute to the world. I am in love with these muffins.

I’ve been going a little crazy with the chocolate chips over here. When I get stressed out hot, melty chocolate calls to me. I usually make breakfast at night after the kids are in bed so we’ve had chocolate chips in all of our breakfasts lately so I can enjoy a toasty, warm treat marbled with ooey-gooey chocolate at the end of the day… and again at the beginning of the next one. Unfortunately my husband’s not a fan (and has kindly pointed out that I’m a little off track with my healthy eating). So, I set out to make a chocolate chip-free breakfast. This is what I came up with. Slightly better than chocolate chips? (The chocolate is winning.) The man wasn’t too impressed until he discovered I’d made him macaroon overnight oats. He’s happy now.

Vegan almond joy muffins

Since this is still a work in progress I hesitate to share. At the same time they were so yummy and such a treat for me that I have to!

I’m not a huge agave syrup fan so I’ll probably try to work that out of the recipe. I want to try them with chocolate chips but they’re already walking the line on “breakfast”. That would definitely make these dessert. Also, the recipe makes a very odd 14 muffins as it stands. Not even sure I want to attempt to correct that at this point but it is annoying. I’ll just keep you abreast of improvements as I make them.

WARNING: Do not eat these hot. Yuck. They taste really weird. Let them cool for at least an hour or two to get the real flavor. I usually make breakfast at night anyway and these were perfect in the morning.

Healthy Almond Joy Muffins

Preheat to 350 degrees

In a large bowl combine:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup almond meal
1 1/2 cup rolled oats (old fashioned)
1 C shredded coconut
1/2 cup cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

Mix with a fork.

In a smaller bowl combine:

1 1/2 mashed bananas
3/4 cup canned coconut milk
1/3 cup apple sauce
1/2 cup agave syrup
3/4 teaspoon almond extract

Mix well.

Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Spoon into lightly greased or nonstick muffin tins. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Let cool before eating. Enjoy!

